Discover Ames

Arts Awards Celebration

The Ames Community Arts Council will hold its annual Arts Awards Celebration at Ames Community Theater (ACTORS) at 120 Abraham Dr. on Sunday, May 21 at 1:30 p.m. The public is invited to join the Arts Council in honoring those who have supported and encouraged the arts through their extraordinary actions and exemplary service to the Ames community.

The following awards will be given:

  • Hazel Hammer Cherished Volunteer: Betty Sailsbury
  • Distinguished Board Member: Chris Johnson
  • Lemonade-from-Lemons: Senior Variety Show
  • Local Treasure: Laurie Hoifeldt
  • Art in the Workplace: Margaret Sloss Center for Women and Gender Equity
  • Veronika Ruedenberg Cultural Entrepreneur: Ames Writers Collective
  • Bill Pelz Arts Advocacy: Lynne Carey
  • Lifetime Achievement: Robert Thomas

Entertainment will be provided by the Pump Boys and Dinettes (from ACTORS!) and light refreshments will be provided.

This event is supported in part by the City of Ames Commission on the Arts (COTA). For more information, visit our website:

About The Ames Community Arts Council:

The Arts Council, created in 1976, is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization dedicated to celebrating the arts in our community. The Arts Council serves local artists, art/cultural organizations and businesses, and all the citizens of Ames. The Arts Council is funded through memberships, donations, and grants, including the City of Ames Commission on the Arts. Members include: supporters of the arts, individual artists, non-profit arts organizations, and businesses.


May 21 2023


1:30 pm


120 Abraham Dr. Ames

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Skip to content